Preparing my art show

I’m working on my upcoming art show (Sept 4, 2014 at the Manning Centre in Calgary).

It’s been a challenge to conceptualize something that can be called “art” as opposed to mere design.

I was inspired by an exhibition in Charleston, SC featuring an artist-designer: Shepard Fairey (of Obama hope poster fame). He does a great job using icons and decorative art elements to get his ideas across:

endless-power-canvas_final

I don’t share Fairey’s politics, however.

A book on Art Deco in the gallery library got me thinking: what if rather than criticizing our Oil Age, art celebrated it – like it does for electrification in the bas-relief below?

art-deco-2-andrew-fare

Leave a Reply

